Maggie Blackbird

Romancing Canada's Indigenous People


Heads Up!

As noted in my previous posts, I enjoy reading about Indigenous heroines.  So when I came across Robin Deeter‘s Paha Sapa Saga series, I had to click on the buy option.  According to her Goodreads page, Ms. Deeter is planning twelve books for the series.

Available for purchase are:  Sacrifice and Reward, Winter Moon, The Bear – Part One, and The Bear – Part II.  I ordered Sacrifice and Reward.  Her site says you can purchase directly from the author, and although I tried to, I had to order them from

Here is the blurb for Sacrifice and Reward, courtesy of Goodreads:

Which will be the victor: hatred or love?

Mid-18th century North America is a hotbed of unrest between many Native American tribes, who are feuding over territory. By this time, most of the Kiowa bands have been pushed west by the Lakota, who are on the move southward from the Great Lakes region. These invaders from the north want the game-rich, lush pasture lands of the territory for themselves.

However, one small Kiowa band is determined to remain in their early homelands in the region of what will be one day known as eastern South Dakota. These two enemy tribes are brought face-to-face through the vision of a young Kiowa medicine man.

Sky Dancer, a beautiful, Kiowa widow, and proud Lakota warrior, Dark Horse, are forced to marry in order to create an alliance between their peoples. Right from the beginning they clash in a test of wills, loathing each other on sight, making a happy marriage seem out of the question.

Will the sacrifice that is asked of them save their tribes? Can these two enemies overcome their initial hatred to find love in unlikely place or will distrust keep them from the reward they both crave?

Buy Links:  All books sold through

%d bloggers like this: