Maggie Blackbird

Romancing Canada's Indigenous People



There is no Fantasy Friday today because anyone who is anyone is at Le Golf National in Guyancourt, France for the Ryder Cup.  And what exactly is the Ryder Cup?  An exhibition match that’s been going since 1927, originally played between the USA and Great Britain. In 1973, the Republic of Ireland joined Team Britain. And in 1979, Continental Europe was added. This is when the matches really began to heat up, because CE has some very talented players.

Fueled by rivalry between European and American fans–and even the European and American golfers, the best of the best from the USA and Europe engage in three days of in-your-face match-play (foursomes, four-ball, and singles) golf to claim the prestigious trophy every other year.

Get ready to hear the familiar chants of, “USA!  USA!” and “OléOléOléOlé?!  Olé! ”  Watch for the craziest of crazy outfits worn by fans.  Cover your ears because the roars are intense.  I don’t know who’s more livelier:  The American or European fans.

Being Canadian, I have no dog in this race.  But I will admit I have a soft spot for Team Europe because who doesn’t love an underdog?  And I have a great love for the European Tour.

But with Tiger on Team USA this year, I do want to see him help his boys retain the Ryder Cup.  However, Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy is on Team Europe.  Boohoo.  Who to pick?  My top two fave golfers slugging it out.  I am torn!  All in all it’ll be three awesome days of golf.

Here are the teams:

Team USA:

Captain:  Jim Furyk
Vice-Captain:  David Duval
Vice-Captain:  Zach Johnson
Vice-Captain: Matt Kuchar
Vice-Captain: Davis Love III
Vice-Captain: Steve Stricker


Rickie Fowler
Brooks Koepka
Dustin Johnson
Jordan Spieth
Justin Thomas
Patrick Reed
Webb Simpson
Bubba Watson
Tiger Woods (Captain’s Pick)
Bryson DeChambeau (Captain’s Pick)
Tony Finau (Captain’s Pick)
Phil Mickelson (Captain’s Pick)

Team Europe:

Captain:  Thomas Bjorn (Denmark)
Vice-Captain:  Luke Donald (England)
Vice-Captain:  Lee Westwood (England)
Vice-Captain:  Padraig Harrington (Ireland)
Vice-Captain:  Robert Karlsson (Sweden)
Vice-Captain:  Graeme McDowell (Northern Ireland)


Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)
Justin Rose (England)
Tommy Fleetwood (England)
Tyrell Hatton (England)
Thorbjørn Olesen (Demark)
Alex Noren (Sweden)
Jon Rahm (Spain)
Francesco Molinari (Italy)
Sergio Garcia (Spain & Captain’s Pick)
Henrik Stenson (Sweden & Captain’s Pick)
Ian Poulter (England & Captain’s Pick)
Paul Casey (England & Captain’s Pick)

Let the games begin!


%d bloggers like this: